Haikus

Sid back at ya with a … Haiku???!!!

Haiku info:

Haikus originated in Japan. A haiku usually has three lines focused with something of nature: the first line has 5 syllables the second one has 7 and the third has 5. They are usually very simple but have deep underlying messages that  could be (or may not be) life changing (yeah, probably not going to be too life changing).

Murakami Kijo

First autumn morning
the mirror I stare into
shows my father’s face.

My explanation of this haiku:

The first line talks about how both the season and the narrator have changed and entered a new phase. When fall starts, the world seems dreary and people wear thicker clothing to hide from the cold and dry (or wet!) weather.  This symbolizes how the narrator feels about himself as well as the outside world, such as the narrator feeling dreary and alone. The second line shows how the narrator looks into the mirror to see himself – his reflection. This could either mean the physical or mental manifestation of who he is. The third line explains how the narrator sees himself as his father. Have thay grown just as wise and old as their father? Have they changed physically looking like their father? Are they worn beginning to show signs of old age – such as the symbolism that autumn brings to this Haiku. This is all in all a very simple yet very complex haiku (to be honest with you guys, I didn’t like studying this and it’s not as easy as it looks – Haikus most are most definitely not for me).

My own haiku:

Sidharth Vij

The pain in my… neck?
It has driven me crazy!
Writing Haikus sucks.

What my haiku means:

Basically, haikus are not as interesting to me as other forms of poetry – sadly. My tutor forced me to use this topic… or else.

I think that my haiku’s first line represents me hurting every time I see, hear and type a h-h a-a i-i k-k u-u. My second line represents me going crazy trying to write one so I wrote about all my growing pains of this. (Actually this helps with pain in life, by making it funny). My last line is pretty straight forward but to tell you in a simpler way: haikus will drive you crazy!! All in all I hate haikus but that’s coming from a sixth grader-typical.

Don’t forget to check out my other blog posts. Sid out!

Haiku taken from:
“Famous Haiku Poems – Haiku Poems.” Famous Haiku Poems. N.p., n.d. Web. 09 Nov. 2016.ku

Image from:

@LonardelliFrank. “Haiku LP :: Arlington Street Investments.” Haiku LP :: Arlington Street Investments. N.p., n.d. Web. 09 Nov. 2016

Leave a Reply

