If you can’t fly…

Hey Sid is back at ya with another quote analysis! I first came across this quote outside of my engineering and design classroom as I was heading back from the bathroom. I glanced at the door of the classroom and noticed three quotes: one by Gandhi, another by Angelou, and one by Martin Luther King Jr. They all had inspirational messages, but I chose MLK Jr.’s quote because I really admired him since I heard of his historical significance in African American history. Here’s a digital copy of the quote:

If you can’t fly, then run,
if you can’t run, then walk,
if you can’t walk, then crawl,
but whatever you do, you have to keep moving forward. – Martin Luther King Jr.

As you might have realized at the end I italicized the word “forward”. I did this because “forward” is a key word in the quote and is a one-word summary of the whole message. It inspires you to keep looking forward without stopping at every obstacle coming at you or one that is in your past.

To me, this quote is really inspirational. It tells me that no matter what happens in life, I have to keep moving forward. Even the hardest obstacles should not be able to stop me. Martin Luther was trying to convey to the African Americans that to be somebody who can make a difference, you should not settle for the minimum that the majority forces you to be. Imagine life if you stop for every problem – you wouldn’t move forward at all! So no matter what you do you have to keep moving forward! Even if life throws you around like a rag doll in a storm, you must find a way to overcome (even though the rag doll would be shredded up into tiny pieces).

Weigle, Lauren. “Martin Luther King Jr. Quotes & Poems for MLK Day 2016.” Heavy.com. Heavy, 18 Jan. 2016. Web. 23 Nov. 2016.

Leave a Reply

